“I had to make a decision — I could walk away from it and it wouldn’t happen,” Sheen said. “I thought, ‘I’m not going to let that happen.’ So, I put all my money into keeping it going. I had a house in America and a house here and I put those up and just did whatever it took. It was scary and incredibly stressful. I’ll be paying for it for a long time. But when I came out the other side, I realized I could do this kind of thing and, if I can keep earning money, it’s not going to ruin me.”

The “turning point” for Sheen came after his work on a production of “The Passion” in his hometown of Port Talbot. The actor realized there were a ton of community-driven projects with “just enough funding to make a tiny difference to a kid’s life by putting on one night a week where they could get out and go bowling or watch a film and just be a kid.” Sheen wanted to take his pay and use it to bolster these groups. “I realized the difference between that child’s life being a little bit better or not was ultimately a small amount of funding and I wanted to help those people,” Sheen said. “I didn’t just want to be a patron or a supportive voice, I wanted to actually do more than that. That’s when I thought, ‘I need to go back and live in Wales again.’” Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.